13th Erwin Félix Lewy Bertaut Prize to Daniel Mazzone

The Thirteenth Erwin Félix Lewy Bertaut Prize of the European Crystallographic Association (ECA) and the European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA) is awarded to Dr Daniel Mazzone from the Paul Scherrer Institute in Villigen, Switzerland.

The prize is awarded to Daniel Mazzone in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the field of quantum effects in strongly correlated electron materials, employing cutting-edge X-ray and neutron scattering techniques. See more on the website of the ECA.

Daniel Mazzone will present his research at the next European Crystallographic meeting in Padova, Italy.

ECA video contest and women in crystallography grant

We received two interesting invitations for young scientist from ECA.

Firstly, they announce the start of the European Crystallography Video Contest! The goal of this contest is to introduce young students to the exciting and challenging world of crystal growth and crystallography, and is open to all schoolchildren from European countries. You can find more information, including how schools can participate and important dates, on the ECA website.

Secondly, our attention was addressed to the recently announced call for the assignment of grants from the funds of the “Women in Crystallography” fundraising project. These grants are intended to provide financial support for Early Career female scientists to attend meetings, congresses, and schools of crystallographic interest. You can find more information, including how to apply for these grants, on the ECA website

Dr. Olga Kennard (1924-2023)

We are very sad to have been notified by the ECA about the news of the recent passing of Dr. Olga Kennard. Dr. Kennard was the founder of the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre and contributed to the creation of the Protein Data Bank and the Nucleic Acid Sequence Database. More about her contributions to science can be read in the announcement on the ECA website.