12th Erwin Félix Lewy Bertaut Prize to Matilde Saura-Múzquiz

“The laureate of the 2023 Erwin Félix Lewy Bertaut Prize is Dr Matilde Saura-Múzquiz, for her impressive early carrier  contributions to the field of crystallography of functional materials, in particular those related to the studies of magnetic and non-magnetic complex oxyde structure  (scheelites, fergusonites, perovskites, pyrochlores, …) and studies on nanoparticle morphology, nuclear and magnetic texture and magnetic performance of sintered materials, while combining neutron and X-ray diffraction methods.
Besides her multifaceted crystallogaphic work, Dr. Saura-Múzquiz has equally contributed to patenting a new method for preparing permanent magnetic materials. Already at this early stage, Dr Matilde Saura-Múzquiz shows clearly scientific originality and independence in her research. She currently holds an individual fellowship at the University of Madrid, where she develops hew own research, on top of various supervision and undergraduate teaching activities.
The Erwin Félix Lewy Bertaut prize is awarded jointly by the European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA) and the European Crystallographic Association (ECA) in memory of the scientific achievements of Erwin Félix Lewy Bertaut, a pioneer in crystallography and neutron scattering.
The prize ceremony will take place during the European Conference on Neutron Scattering  next week in Garching, Germany.”

Above is cited from an email we received with the notification of this award. We congratulate Mathilde Dr. Saura-Múzquiz with the prize!

Posted in Incoming.