Vacature Expert X-stralendiffractie – KU Leuven

De KU Leuven maakt ons kenbaar dat er een vacature open staat voor een expert X-stralendiffractie: “X-stralendiffractie is onontbeerlijk voor tal van onderzoekslijnen over de afdelingen heen. Toestellen voor de kristalstructuurbepaling van enkelkristallen en poeders (XRD) zijn beschikbaar, naast gespecialiseerde apparatuur voor gecombineerde grote (WAXS) en kleine hoek (SAXS) X-stralen verstrooiing aan hiërarchisch geordende materialen. Daarnaast maken onze onderzoekers gebruik van synchrotron X-stralen aan grote internationale instellingen zoals de European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF). Zo zijn onderzoekers van het departement Chemie verantwoordelijk voor de werking van twee Vlaamse bundellijnen aan het ESRF: een bundellijn voor gecombineerde SAXS/WAXS en een bundellijn voor X-stralen spectroscopie (XANES, EXAFS, X-stralen fluorescentie). Om het potentieel van deze technieken optimaal te benutten zijn we op zoek naar een expert X-stralendiffractie.”

Solliciteren voor deze vacature kan tot en met 26/10/2023. Meer informatie vindt u op de website van de universiteit Leuven.

Instruct news: Nominations for Bertini Award & Intership call

Bertini Award

The Ivano Bertini Award is presented every two years at the Instruct Biennial Structural Biology Conference. It recognizes researchers who have undertaken frontier research utilizing an integrative structural biology approach which aligns with the Instruct vision. The deadline is 30 September 2023, you can find out more and submit your nomination for the award here.

14th Internship Call
Instruct-ERIC offers funded internship opportunities for early career researchers to access an Instruct center for 3 to 6 months. The program provides an opportunity for PhD students and early stage postdoctoral fellows to train in a variety of techniques in a new facility, with a new team, in a new country! Find out more and apply here before the 2 October, 2023 deadline.


12th Erwin Félix Lewy Bertaut Prize to Matilde Saura-Múzquiz

“The laureate of the 2023 Erwin Félix Lewy Bertaut Prize is Dr Matilde Saura-Múzquiz, for her impressive early carrier  contributions to the field of crystallography of functional materials, in particular those related to the studies of magnetic and non-magnetic complex oxyde structure  (scheelites, fergusonites, perovskites, pyrochlores, …) and studies on nanoparticle morphology, nuclear and magnetic texture and magnetic performance of sintered materials, while combining neutron and X-ray diffraction methods.
Besides her multifaceted crystallogaphic work, Dr. Saura-Múzquiz has equally contributed to patenting a new method for preparing permanent magnetic materials. Already at this early stage, Dr Matilde Saura-Múzquiz shows clearly scientific originality and independence in her research. She currently holds an individual fellowship at the University of Madrid, where she develops hew own research, on top of various supervision and undergraduate teaching activities.
The Erwin Félix Lewy Bertaut prize is awarded jointly by the European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA) and the European Crystallographic Association (ECA) in memory of the scientific achievements of Erwin Félix Lewy Bertaut, a pioneer in crystallography and neutron scattering.
The prize ceremony will take place during the European Conference on Neutron Scattering  next week in Garching, Germany.”

Above is cited from an email we received with the notification of this award. We congratulate Mathilde Dr. Saura-Múzquiz with the prize!

Patrick Cramer: NVBMB speaker of the year

Patrick Cramer, Professor of Molecular Biology at the MPI for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen will give three seminars from October 14-16 2019 in Rotterdam, Utrecht and Eindhoven.

Access is free and no registration is needed. Check out the events section for more details.

In memoriam prof. Ted Janssen

It is with deep regret that we have heard that Ted Janssen passed away on September 29, 2017  at the age of 81.

Ted Janssen was professor of Theoretical Physics at Radboud University Nijmegen.  He was a pioneer in the symmetry description of aperiodic crystals. In 1988 he  received the Aminoff prize of the Royal Swedish Academy of Science and in 2014 the Ewald prize of the International Union of Crystallography.

An obituary can be found here.

Gregori Aminoff Prize in Crystallography 2018 to Professor Piet Gros from Utrecht University

FRI, SEP 15, 2017 08:00 CET

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Gregori Aminoff Prize in Crystallography 2018 to Professor Piet Gros from Utrecht University in the Netherlands, “for his fundamental contributions to understanding the complement system-mediated innate immune response”.

Read more at the site of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

Philip Coppens overleden

It is with deep sorrow we have heard that Philip Coppens passed away on 21-Jun-2017 (age 86).

Philip Coppens was born in Amersfoort and did his PhD at the University of Amsterdam. After appointments at the Weizmann Institute and the Brookhaven National Laboratory he spend most of his career in Buffalo. In 2005 he received the Ewald prize of the IUCr.

The following links give more info on Philip Coppens and his work: